extraction-shooter · squad
What Is an Extraction Shooter? How Friends Pick One
What an extraction shooter is, how the loot-and-escape loop works, and how squad size, solo play, PvE options and price should steer a group's pick.
By Ahnaf An Nafee · Published 2026-11-05
TLDR
An extraction shooter is a multiplayer shooter where you enter a map with gear, loot it, and have to reach an exit alive to keep what you carry. As of November 5, 2026, Wikipedia describes the genre as often PvPvE, with players alone or in teams facing rivals and computer-controlled enemies, and says gear is permanently lost if you miss the exit. The group decision comes down to four things: squad cap, whether solo and PvE options exist, price, and platforms. Of the games checked here, ARC Raiders, Marathon and Hunt: Showdown 1896 all list parties of up to three. ARC Raiders showed 48,918 current players on SteamCharts on November 5, 2026, a Steam-only count at one moment.
The core loop
The games checked here share a similar cycle.
- Enter. You deploy with a loadout, either from your stash or bought for the run.
- Loot and fight. You scavenge, complete objectives and meet enemy players, computer-controlled enemies, or both.
- Get out. You walk to an extraction point. In Hunt, the official player guide says extraction takes thirty seconds, and the timer freezes if a teammate is downed or an enemy hunter enters the point.
- Pay for failure. Hunt's Steam listing sums it up as "Die with nothing or get out with everything." Activision's DMZ page says gear and resources may be lost if you fail to get out, and Bungie's Marathon page describes putting stolen loot back on the line each run.
That last step is why squads matter. A teammate who revives you, or who walks you to the exit, is the difference between a bad night and a lost kit.
Five games compared
Facts below come from each developer's pages and Steam listings, read on November 5, 2026. Steam prices are list prices and change with sales and region.
| Game | Squad size | Steam price | Platforms | Solo, PvE and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARC Raiders | Solo or up to 3 | $39.99 | Per Embark: Steam, Epic, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, GeForce NOW, with crossplay | Embark ran a PvE matchmaking toggle test from October 13 to 20 and expected to follow up in November |
| Marathon | Solo, or a crew of 2 or 3 | $39.99 | Per Bungie: Steam, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, with crossplay and cross save | Steam page says PvP and PvE, plus a Ranked mode |
| Hunt: Showdown 1896 | Solo, duo or trio | $29.99 per the Steam hub | Per Crytek: Steam, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Crytek Store | Crytek calls it a PvP bounty game with heavy PvE elements |
| Modern Warfare 4 DMZ | Solo or squad, size not stated on the page | Not listed on the DMZ page, which links to the game's store listings | Xbox, Xbox PC, PlayStation, Switch 2, Battle.net, Steam | PvPvE, and you choose how much of each threat to take on |
| Escape from Tarkov | Not stated on the Steam page | $49.99 Standard Edition | Steam page shows Windows requirements | Steam lists a separate "PVE Zone" add-on at $29.99 but the page does not explain it |
For ARC Raiders squad rules in detail, see the ARC Raiders squad guide. For DMZ parties and crossplay settings, see the Modern Warfare 4 squad guide.
One high-ranked game that is not one: WARDOGS
WARDOGS sits high on the same SteamCharts list, with 59,589 current players on November 5, 2026. Its Steam page says plainly that it is not another extraction shooter. It describes a 100-player, three-team warfare game built around a control zone, with cash that carries between matches. That makes it a different genre by its own description. Squads there form inside the match, which the WARDOGS squad guide walks through.
How a group should choose
- Match the squad cap to your group. Three is the common ceiling in the table. A group of four has to split, rotate one person out, or look at a game with a different cap, so settle this first.
- Check what solo and small parties face. If one friend often plays alone, look at how the game treats solos. Embark says ARC Raiders matchmaking prioritizes equal squad sizes where it can, and Crytek's Hunt guide says solo and duo players can choose whether opposing teams max out at two or three.
- Decide how much PvP you want. Activision's DMZ page says you choose how much of each threat to take on, with fighting, avoiding, or negotiating as options. Bungie says exploration in Marathon breaks into PvP combat, and Crytek calls Hunt a competitive PvP game with heavy PvE elements. If half the group dislikes being hunted by players, PvE-leaning options matter more than the chart rank.
- Add up the price. Everyone buys their own copy, so a $29.99 game costs a four-person group less than a $49.99 one. Check sales, and check whether DMZ is bundled in the game edition you already own.
- Confirm platforms. ARC Raiders, Marathon, Hunt and DMZ each list both PC and console storefronts on publisher pages. For Tarkov, the Steam page shows only Windows requirements, and this guide did not check other sources. A group split across consoles and PC should check crossplay in each game's settings before buying. The cross-platform squads guide covers mixed groups.
- Plan for a lost run. In this genre a death can cost the gear you brought. Agree on who carries valuables, and what each person risks.
Before the first run
- Pick one person to call "leave now," so nobody argues at the exit.
- Decide your posture toward other players: avoid, talk first, or fight.
- Agree on voice. Proximity chat in some games reaches strangers, so keep plans on party chat. These voice chat tips help nervous players.
- Set a loss limit. Stopping after a bad streak keeps the group together.
The good teammate checklist and the LFG guide cover the habits that keep a regular squad going.
Filling the empty slot
Small caps make groups fragile: when one person is busy, a trio becomes a duo. Start with friends who already own the game. If your friends list is thin, a teammate-matching app such as Player 2 can pair you with players who own the game and play when you do.